Delectable Double Chocolate Chip Cookies

Double Chocolate Chip Cookies

Drew kindly told me this morning at 7AM that a coworker of his was retiring and thus, we needed to bring something to the office to say goodbye!  Even though I had brought store bought cookies 3 days prior, what hubby wants hubby gets 😉

So, since I didn’t bring in homemade cookies last time, I decided before work to whip up these delectable treats.  Even though I don’t eat dairy, I did sneak in a bite (or 5) and I definitely would’ve eaten the whole batch if I could’ve….but my body, and the scale, is very happy I didn’t!

Although my dairy free cookies are by far my favorite (and I’m bias since I can eat them guilt free), these certainly will be one of my go to cookie recipes to turn to when Drew decides to surprise me with another cookie request.

RECIPE:
Serving Size:  Between 40-50 cookies

Ingredients:

1 cup unsalted butter, softened

1 cup granulated sugar

1/2 cup brown sugar lightly packed

2 eggs

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

2 cups all-purpose flour

2/3 cup cocoa powder

3/4 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 teaspoon salt

2 cups semisweet chocolate chips (I did 1 cup white chips and 1 cup chocolate chips)

2 teaspoons milk (I used Almond Milk)

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees and line baking sheets with parchment paper
  2. In a medium bowl, whisk the flour, cocoa, baking soda, and salt and set aside
  3. In large bowl, beat butter, both sugars, eggs (one at a time), and vanilla until light and fluffy. Add the dried ingredients that were set aside in 1 cup increments until well blended. **Tip:  I found the batter to be really dry so I added milk a teaspoon at a time to make it slightly less dry.  You want it to be sticky but not moist so make sure not to add any more than 2 teaspoons
  4. Next, add your chocolate chips and fold into the batter gently
  5. Using a cookie scoop, scoop onto the prepared baking sheets
  6. Bake for 8-10 minutes in the preheated oven, or just until set.  I found 8 minutes to help them cook and stay soft
  7. Cool slightly on the cookie sheets before transferring to wire racks to cool completely

ImageTHE CHEF IN THE WORKS

Leave a Reply

