Chunky Chocolate Chip Cookies

Chocolate Chip Cookies

I was visiting my sister in Brooklyn June 10-13th and although I had to work, we had a fun time regardless.  We spent two afternoons at the rooftop at Whole Foods so I could work and it was great.  Before leaving we walked downstairs and scoped out the food and I came across vegan cookies…..Vegan Cookies??  I had never heard of such a thing, but I knew I had to try them.  Unfortunately, though, I had more traveling to do and with the heat wave kicking in the cookies wouldn’t last.

After debating back and forth about whether or not to buy them, I decided I would just make them myself!  Although wary considering baked goods not using the typical ingredients are hit or miss, I accepted my challenge in order to satisfy my chocolate chip cookie craving.

These are vegan but you can use regular butter and milk if you’d like which makes these so durable!

RECIPE:

Serving Size: 30-32 Cookies

Ingredients:

1 cup dairy free butter (I prefer Earth Balance Dairy/Soy Free Butter)

1/2 cup granulated sugar

1/2 cup brown sugar

1/4 cup Almond Milk

1 tsp vanilla

1/2 tsp salt

2 1/4 cups flour ( you could use gluten free flour to make it gluten free)

1 tsp baking soda

12 oz semisweet dairy free chocolate chips

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350°F
  2. Combine the dry ingredients into a bowl and set aside
  3. Using an electric mixer cream butter and sugars until light and fluffy
  4. Slowly add milk, mix well, then add the vanilla
  5. Add the dry ingredients in 3 separate parts to the creamed mixture and stir to blend.
  6. Fold in the chocolate chips
  7. Using a cookie scoop, put one scoop of dough onto parchment-lined cookie sheets
  8. Bake for 8-10 minutes (I found 8 minutes to be perfect but my oven tends to be hotter)

ImageThe Chef in the Works

One thought on “Chunky Chocolate Chip Cookies

Leave a Reply

