Bangin’ Barbacoa Tacos

Barbacoa Tacos

Although not the best of pictures, I have a good reason for slacking off on my photography skills:  I was too busy stuffing my face.  As my husband constantly asks for taco’s anytime I ask him what he wants for dinner, this time I actually caved and gave him what he asked for.  Although typically, we go for the ground turkey/chicken option, this night I was looking for a little something different.

Let’s just put it like this….there was 1.5 pounds of meat and there were zero leftovers.  ZERO!  That’s a whole lotta meat for two people but it was well worth it, although the scale would say otherwise 🙂

When I first came across this recipe, I thought to myself “what is barbacoa?”  so, I’m sure you’re thinking the same thing.  Barbacoa is actually the way of cooking meat.  It means slowly cooking meat as in steaming or slow cooking.  The meat is high in fat and accompanied by Mexican flavors.

The base for this recipe is from Gimme Some Oven, probably one of my favorite blogs.  But I changed a few things to make it my own.

Now that your lesson is done for the day, get to cooking and let me know what you think!

RECIPE:

Servings: About 4-8

Ingredients:

1 and 1/2 lbs chuck roast (fat trimmed), cut into 2-inch chunks

3 cloves garlic, minced

1-2 chipotles in adobo sauce, chopped

1/2 (4-ounce) can chopped green chiles

1/2 small red onion, finely chopped yielding about 1 cup

1/4 cup fresh lime juice

1/4 cup beef broth

1 tablespoons apple cider vinegar

2 bay leaves

1 Tablespoon ground cumin

1/2 Tablespoon dried oregano

1 teaspoons salt

1/2 teaspoon black pepper

1/8 tsp ground cloves

1/8 tsp onion powder

1/8 tsp garlic powder

Soft Taco Shells

Fresh Cilantro (for topping)

Directions:

  1. Combine and toss all ingredients into the slow cooker (except shells and cilantro).
  2. Cover and cook on low for 6-8 hours, or on high for 3-4 hours, or until the beef is tender and falls apart easily when shredded with a fork.
  3. Here’s the tricky part! The beef will yield a lot of grease, so I like to remove the meat onto a plate and pour sauce from crockpot into a bowl. Shred the beef then add back to the crock pot. Add as much as the sauce as you like. I used about 3/4 of the sauce and tossed the rest. Cover and let the beef soak up the juices for an extra 10 minutes.
  4. Remove the bay leaves and serve!

ImageThe Chef in the Works

Leave a Reply

