Genuine Guacamole

guacamole

After thinking long and hard about what to make for our Mexican Game Night party, I thought it was time I tried making my own guacamole.  I attempted once before and was not a fan of the turn out, but with my kitchen skills getting better since starting my blog, I thought I would give it a go.  Worst case, maybe no one would care if they had enough margaritas?  🙂

Surprisingly, I love avocado’s now and you would think I would’ve loved them after being in California for a year, but nope!  I decided to start trying them in Geneva and found my new love.  Although these babies are FULL of vitamins, nutrients, and healthy fats that are essential for a healthy lifestyle, you must be careful with how much you consume.   There are 234 calories in a cup of avocado and because these are so tasty, I could easily eat 2-3 cups worth while still wanting more so I really have to watch how much I eat.

I have mastered the art of picking out the right avocados (don’t worry, it takes time).  If making the guacamole that day, make sure to get a green/black avocado that yield a little when you apply light pressure squeezing them.  Another trick to seeing if they’re ripe is picking the top stub off – if it’s green with a little brown they are ready!

If you’re making this guacamole another day (my strongest suggestion to ensure proper ripening of avocados) buy the bright green avocados then put in fridge until ready to use:  Refrigerating avocados makes them last longer.  The day before or the day you plan to make the guacamole sit the avocados out at room temperature.  The last option, if the avocados aren’t ripe enough, to ripen faster, put in a paper bag with a ripe fruit!

I served these with mini tacos and tortilla chips, but you can spread on bread for avocado toast, add to a sandwich or salad, or just eat on its own!

RECIPE:

Servings: 4

Ingredients:

   3 avocados – peeled, pitted, and mashed

1 lime, juiced (or 1 tablespoon lime juice)

1 teaspoon salt

1/2 cup diced onion (make sure it’s diced finely)

3 tablespoons chopped fresh cilantro (or 1/2 tablespoon dried)

1/4 teaspoon cumin

2 roma tomatoes, diced

1 teaspoon minced garlic

1 pinch ground cayenne pepper (optional)

Directions

  1. In a medium bowl, mash together the avocados then add lime juice, and salt.  **If you want chunky guacamole try not to mash avocados too much**
  2. Mix in onion, cilantro, tomatoes, and garlic.
  3. Stir in cayenne pepper. Refrigerate 1 hour then serve! You can serve immediately, but chilling in advance makes the flavors merry together well.

ImageThe Chef in the Works

One thought on “Genuine Guacamole

Leave a Reply

