Citrus Cilantro Shrimp Tacos

Shrimp Tacos

With the husband back in town, it’s time to make things that he likes too (bummer ;)).  Since anytime I ask what he wants for dinner, he responds with, “Tacos!”, I thought I would surprise him for his first dinner home with just that!

Typically we do the ground turkey, occasionally the ground beef, and his favorite: my Simple Slow Cooker Chicken Tacos.  But, after having shrimp a couple of nights ago, I thought Shrimp Tacos would be a great change of pace.  Never having made shrimp tacos before, it was a stretch (just like everything else), but it was a success and I’m looking forward to experimenting some more.

Although in my recipes I don’t typically use pre-made marinades, this case was an exception because some recipes I read used them and I wanted my first go at this to be a good one!  With it being a success, I would like to predict that you will be seeing many more shrimp taco recipes in the near future 🙂

Served with lettuce, tomato, onion, tomatillo salsa, and a lime wedge….all that’s left to say is “Muy Bien!”

Serving Size: 4 Tacos

Ingredients:
2 tablespoons olive oil

16 Jumbo Easy to Peel Raw Shrimp (this yields 4 fish per taco, so depending on how much meat you want, change the amount accordingly!)

4 cloves garlic

1/2 tablespoon unsalted butter (dairy free for me, but use regular if you prefer) – ** Tip: This is an optional additional ingredient – with the marinade being creamy, it’s not necessary to have both olive oil and butter, but it’s what I did so I wanted to include!

2 tablespoons cilantro (divided)

1/2 teaspoon rosemary

1/2 cup Cilantro Lime Marinade – I used wegmans brand, but any brand will do!

** I haven’t tried this yet, so don’t trust me on this, but if you can’t find this marinade in stores, I would suggest blending the following:

2 Tablespoons Olive Oil -or butter

1 Tablespoon Lime Juice

1 Tablespoon Cilantro

Salt and Pepper to Taste

4 Whole Wheat Tortillas (for a healthier option.  You could use flour, corn, and hard taco shells)

Optional Toppings:  Cabbage, Tomato, Onion, Tomatillo Salsa, Avocado,  etc….use whatever your taco heart desires!

Lime wedges for garnish

Instructions:

 

1. In a large skillet, heat olive oil over medium heat. Once hot, add garlic and butter until garlic is aromatic, roughly 2 minutes.

2. Add shrimp in a single layer and cook for two minutes until pink.

3. Flip shrimp and cook for an additional 2-3 minutes until shrimp is pink and flesh is opaque.  After flipping sprinkle your rosemary and 1 tablespoon cilantro onto the shrimp

4. One shrimp is cooked, stir in your marinade and stir everything together until warm.

5. Fill into tortillas and add your toppings.  If you have sauce leftover, you could top your tacos with it…if using this marinade though it is very salty, so be sure to try it before you use anymore

Serving Suggestions:

I made rice to accompany this!  You could do beans in addition to rice if you’re looking for a full spread.

Happy Cooking!

 

 

Image

The Chef in the Works

Leave a Reply

