Bright Buttery Beans

Buttery Green Beans

I will be honest – I never cook green beans right and the reason is because I do them too healthy.  When cooking for just myself and husband I’ll dab a little olive oil and sprinkle with salt and pepper and roast or pan fry and that’s about it.  For company, I knew we couldn’t do this because who wants to go to someone’s house and eat healthy (other than me)?

What makes this recipe great is that you still get that vibrant bright green color without the hassle of blanching, so it’s easy and delicious.

These will serve 4 hungry people with a little bit leftover, and I served with the garlic bread from one of my other posts – a winning combination.

Ingredients:
1 pound fresh green beans

2 tablespoons butter (I used dairy free)

3 cloves garlic

1/2 teaspoon garlic powder

salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

1. Place green beans into a large skillet and cover with water; bring to a boil.  You just want to have a thin layer covering the green beans – the more water you have the more time you’ll need to bring to a boil.

2. Once to a boil, reduce heat to medium-low and simmer until beans start to soften, about 5-8 minutes. Drain water.

3. Put green beans back in the pan and add butter, garlic, and garlic powder to the pan; cook and stir until butter is melted and butter aromatic, about 2 minutes.

4. Season with salt and pepper and serve!

ImageThe Chef in the Works

One thought on “Bright Buttery Beans

Leave a Reply

