Light Lemon Cookies

Lemon Cookies 2

When drew operates he has to go to the surgery center were people are always bringing in sweet treats and salty snacks.  Occasionally he’ll bring me home something to nibble on, and I usually take a little bite since the majority of items have dairy in it.  When he walks in the door with a plate full of cookies, I roll my eyes expecting the typical cookie spread that he usually brings.  He hands me a cookie and says, “Try This!” I oblige fully expecting to just take a little bite and hand it back, but to my surprise I loved it so much I ate the whole thing!

Luckily, I work out with the husband of the woman who made these addictive cookies so as soon as I stepped onto the elliptical, I asked Mike to give me the recipe so I can make these cookies for my inlaws and brother in law and his girlfriend who were visiting that weekend.

So, after making these and having the in laws approve I knew it was something to share with my readers.

You will see they are very similar to Italian Anise Cookies, but by switching a few ingredients (since I am not an anise fan) these make a great dessert.

As a tip, although I only used one cookie sheet, I learned that if you can stack the two, it allows air to circulate through the bottom of the pan to prevent burning.  Additionally, her cookies were soft on the bottom and these had a SLIGHT browning, which makes me think I should cook higher on the racks, but without trying that I don’t want to suggest it, so try the middle rack and if you like it to be soft throughout, move the rack higher!

Ingredients:

Cookies

1/2 cup butter

1/4 cup shortening

3/4 cup granulated sugar

4 eggs

3 cups all-purpose flour

5 teaspoons baking powder

1/2 teaspoon table salt

2 teaspoons lemon extract

For the Glaze:

2 cups powdered sugar

Zest of 1 lemon

Juice of 1 lemon (strained without seeds and pulp) – This makes for a VERY lemon flavored frosting so if you like a little subtlety for lemon, I suggest using lemon extract – about 1 tbsp.

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 375 Degrees

2. Sift flour, baking powder and salt together in a bowl and set aside

3. Melt butter and shortening

4. Beat the melted butter and shortening together until incorporated(roughly 2 minutes)

5. Once incorporated, add the granulated sugar and mix until blended.

6. Add eggs, one at a time, beating well after each one (roughly 1 minute) then add the lemon extract

7. Add flour mixture to the creamed mixture 1 cup at a time until incorporated. It’s important not to over mix.  The dough should remain very soft so don’t add too much at once.

8. Roll dough in small balls (about a tablespoon) and place on a parchment paper lined cookie sheet.

9. Bake for 8 Minutes – the color should remain light and the bottoms lightly browned (if not putting rack higher in oven)

10. Move cookies immediately to a cooling rack and let cool completely before glazing and while they cool, prepare the glaze

11. Mix the sugar, zest and lemon juice slowly together.

12. To glaze, dip the top of each cookie into the glaze then, if desired, sprinkle with sprinkles immediately

ImageThe Chef in the Works

 

Leave a Reply

