Gotta Ciabatta Garlic Bread

My Oh My!Garlic Bread

My Oh My!  In the past, my methods for making garlic bread were pretty simple – add a little butter, a little garlic, and a little olive oil TLC and throw in the oven.  I felt like there was always something missing….until I gave this recipe a try for when we had company over for dinner.   Mind you, that was the FIRST time I ever cooked for someone other than family, so attempting to make something I hadn’t made before was a stretch but I’m so glad I did.

This recipe came from my favorite chef – Ina Garten.  But I made some much needed changes to make this recipe oh so good!

Ingredients:

1 loaf ciabatta bread
6 large garlic cloves, chopped
1/4 cup chopped flat-leaf parsley (fresh is necessary for great flavor)
1/2 tbsp chopped fresh oregano leaves
1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
Freshly ground black pepper
1/4 cup good olive oil
2 tablespoons unsalted butter (I used dairy free butter so I can eat it)
Parmesan (optional)

Directions

1. Preheat the oven to 350 Degrees.

2. Place the garlic in a food processor and process until minced. Add the parsley, oregano, salt and pepper and pulse a few times so well blended.  If using Parmesan, you can also add at this point!

3. In a saute pan on medium high heat, add oil. Once the oil is hot (sizzles when sprinkling water on it) add the garlic mixture. This is only to quickly cook the garlic, so literally remove the pan from the heat 30 seconds – 1 minute after stirring the mixture in the pan. You do NOT want the oil to burn otherwise you’ll have to start all over again – no good!

4. Slice the ciabatta bread in half horizontally, and spread the butter on one half. Spread the garlic mixture on the other half of the bread, and put the halves together.

5. Wrap the bread in aluminum foil and place the bread in the preheated oven and bake for 30 minutes to an hour (this is really just to warm the bread by leaving it wrapped tightly in tin foil it won’t burn).

6. Once almost ready to eat, open foil and continue baking for an additional 5-10 Minutes until crisp. For an additional crispness, you can also put it under the broiler on high for 2-4 minutes.

ImageThe Chef in the Works

2 thoughts on “Gotta Ciabatta Garlic Bread

Leave a Reply

