Creamy Coconut Curry Chicken

Coconut Curry Chicken

With the husband out of town for a few days, other than partying hard, I like to make recipes that he doesn’t like!  It gives me the opportunity to try new skills in the kitchen, but also eat foods that I don’t generally get to eat unless we’re out to dinner.

So, I’ve been eying coconut curry dishes ever since I ate at my favorite restaurant, Red Dove, in Geneva and they subbed a milk broth for a coconut curry broth.  I had never had coconut milk before, and hardly ever had curry, so I was skeptical.  To be honest, my sister lived in an apartment in Stamford, CT where I was convinced the entire floor except for her was Indian so just the SMELL of curry gave me a bad taste in my mouth!  But, because I’m a “try everything once” type person….I figured now was the time to give it a go.

I must say, if someone of Indian decent came to dinner at my house this evening, I’m pretty sure they would approve!  Literally, every bite, “mmmm” came out of my mouth and if you make this I’m certain you will too.

RECIPE:

Serving Size:  4 People

1 1/2-2 chicken breast, cut into 1-inch pieces (about 6oz each breast)
1 tsp curry powder
1/2tsp salt, divided
pepper
1/8 tsp chili powder
1 tbsp olive oil
1/2 onion, diced
3 cloves garlic, minced
1 tbsp dried basil
1/4 can coconut milk (14 oz. can) or more, depending on how much sauce you like – don’t use any more than half!
1 tbsp brown sugar
1/2 tbsp cornstarch
1/2 tbsp dried ginger (you can use fresh too, but I like the easy route!) – I might have used a bit more….I like ginger!
1 tbsp lime juice

Directions:
1. Stir together curry, salt, pepper and chili powder.
2. Place cut chicken into a bowl and toss with curry seasoning blend and coat evenly.
3. Cover and marinate in fridge for 30 minutes to an hour (this is NOT really necessary – if you decide to make this last minute, you can just cook right away).
4. In a large pan, heat olive oil over medium-high heat. When oil is hot, add onion, garlic, and basil and cook until onion is translucent and garlic is aromatic (roughly 3-5 minutes)
5. Add chicken and cook for 5-6 minutes until no longer pink.
6. In a separate small bowl whisk coconut milk, sugar and cornstarch until well combined.
7. Pour milk mix into skillet, whisking until thickened to desired consistency and bubbling to indicate it’s warm. I mixed mine for about 1-2 minutes.
8. Stir in ginger and lime juice and cook for an additional minute.
9. Plate and serve!

Serving Suggestion:

I served with zoodles (zucchini spirals) for a healthy alternative to rice…also because I didn’t have rice on hand. However, rice would have been EXCELLENT with this dish. You could even serve with pasta but I would suggest doubling on the sauce if you do! As a vegetable, you could add broccoli to this to make it a heartier meal.

ImageThe Chef in the Works

 

One thought on “Creamy Coconut Curry Chicken

Leave a Reply

