Perfect Pulled Pork

Pulled Pork on Pretzel Roll

Wow – talk about an amazing recipe!  I just tried pulled pork for the first time almost a year ago and I’ve loved it ever since, and with my new appreciation for the art of crock-pottery, I knew this one was a must try.  Boy am I glad I did.  I ate this for breakfast the next day I liked it so much….sad but true.

What I love about this is not only is it easy because you throw it in the crock pot, but it’s easy because it requires very little ingredients.  This makes about (4) servings, but it went very quickly so if you’re serving 4 people who like extra’s, I recommend doubling the recipe.

Ingredients:

1.5 lb pork tenderloin (boneless) with fat removed

Salt and Pepper as desired

1/8 teaspoon garlic powder and onion powder

1-2 cloves garlic crushed or minced

1/2 onion diced

1/4 cup barbecue sauce and about a tablespoon for starting recipe

**I Used Sweet Baby Ray’s Barbecue….it is by far the best sauce ever made!  I like my pulled pork medium dry, so definitely have some extra sauce handy if you like it drenched

1/2 can coke, pepsi, or root beer

Directions:

1. Season pork tenderloin with salt, pepper, garlic and onion powder and massage gently into the meat

2. Place Pork in crock pot with onion and garlic

3. Top with about a tablespoon of barbecue sauce

**I don’t start with all of it because tenderloins can leak juices so in some cases you might want to drain the juices after cooking before adding the sauce**

4. Cook on High for 4 Hours or on Low for 6 Hours

5. Halfway through cooking add the 1/2 can of soda (You could try adding in the beginning….this was a last minute decision for me to do, so I only added it halfway and it still tasted amazing)

5. Now comes the fun part!  When done, if there are too many juices you can drain them.  If not, just separate pork with a fork and add the 1/4 cup barbecue sauce.  Toss and serve!

Serving Suggestion:

We served on top of a Pretzel Roll, but you can really put this on ANYTHING.   I also made baked sweet potato fries to go with it for an amazing treat.  This would also go great for a Taco Tuesday night, or on some fajitas….pulled pork is really a diverse food that you can really play around with, so have some fun!

ImageThe Chef in the works

One thought on “Perfect Pulled Pork

Leave a Reply

