Perfect Pork Tenderloin 2

Pork Balsamic Tenderloin

So, when I made pork tenderloin last, I really enjoyed it, but I felt like it was lacking something.  It had a lot of great flavor but it could have used a thicker sauce to help give it a little something extra!  The main problem was, I let it rest uncovered for 5 minutes so by the time I sliced into it, it was pretty luke warm (yuck!).  So, this time I made sure to let it rest covered, and served the sides to the places while I waited.  Last time, I also just let it rest for about 8 minutes without continuing to check the temperature, so this time I left the thermometer in the meat so I would make sure it didn’t go over 150.

This brings me to my next point, why rest?  I have never done this before, never cared to understand the point, and always just wanted to dive in!  For those of you who don’t know, the point of resting is so that all the juices can be absorbed into the meat instead of into your cutting board.

By making these few changes, it really helped make this pork tenderloin a winner. If you’re a fan of balsamic, you could even do a balsamic reduction drizzle on top…but, you certainly don’t need it!

Ingredients:

1 lb Pork Tenderloin

2 Tablespoons Olive Oil

2 Tablespoons Balsamic Vinegar

1 teaspoon fresh rosemary

1 teaspoon thyme

2 cloves garlic minced

1 teaspoon garlic and onion powder

1/2 tablespoon steak seasoning

Directions:

  1. Trim silver skin or connective tissue off tenderloins with a very sharp thin knife.
  2. Mix olive oil, rosemary, thyme, and garlic in a bowl
  3. Cut slits into the tenderloin
  4. Coat tenderloins with garlic and onion powder, then with your hands or a basting brush, rub the oil mixture into the meat and push some into the slits
  5. Drizzle tenderloins with balsamic vinegar
  6. Marinate for at least 30 minutes (I marinated for 3 hours)
  7. When ready to cook, preheat oven to 475 and roast uncovered for 15 minutes, or until instant read thermometer reads 145
  8. Let meat rest out of the oven for about 4-5 minutes, then slice and serve!

Serving Suggestion:

I served with roasted potatoes and asparagus along with a dry white wine accompaniment. You can really do anything with this dish but the roasted potatoes seasoned with rosemary and thyme really compliment this dish!

ImageThe Chef in the works

2 thoughts on “Perfect Pork Tenderloin 2

Leave a Reply

