Perfect Pork Tenderloin

Pork

Hey, remember me?  I know it’s been a while, and I am sorry to have abandoned you.  It’s been quite the busy few months, but I think it’s time to get back into the swing of things and writing my recipes down….not only so I can keep track of what I make and make again, but so I can have something to look forward to after my delicious meal is finished and I can relive it all over again 🙂

Last evening, I made a pork tenderloin with risotto….yum yum!  My first time making both and I was quite impressed.  I always hesitated to try Risotto because of Chef Ramsey (It’s RAW!), and because everyone always said how difficult it is to make.  My good friend Catia convinced me that it’s not that bad and you can do a lot with it, so I wanted to give it a try and boy was it worth it!  As a side to the pork tenderloin, it really was a tasty meal.

Ingredients:

Pork:

1-1/2 cloves garlic, minced

1-1/2 teaspoons dried rosemary

salt and pepper to taste

1 pound boneless pork loin roast

2 tablespoons olive oil

1/8 teaspoon garlic powder and onion powder

Salt and pepper

1/4 cup white wine

Sauce:
Juices from pork

3 tablespoons chicken broth

1 teaspoon flour or cornstarch

Instructions:

  1. Prepare Pork Tenderloin by peeling off excess skin
  2. Crush garlic with rosemary, salt and pepper
  3. Put in a food processor and slowly add oil, making a paste
  4. Once blended, pierce meat with a sharp knife in several places and press some of the garlic paste into the openings and rub the meat with the remaining garlic mixture and olive oil
  5. Marinate for 30 minutes or up to 5 hours. The longer you marinate, the stronger the flavor
  6. Once ready to cook, preheat oven to 350 degrees
  7. Fill a baking dish with the white wine and place pork loin on top
  8. Cook turning occasionally, until the pork is no longer pink in the center, about 45 Minutes- 1 hour, or when an instant-read thermometer inserted into the center reads 140 degrees F
  9. Remove from oven pour juices into a preheated pan over medium high heat
  10. Let roast rest covered for 10 minutes. The instant read thermometer should then read 145 (this is the temperature that pork needs to be)
  11. While pork rests, add chicken broth and flour to pan stirring until warm
  12. Add pork to a platter and slice; drizzle sauce over pork and serve!

Serving Suggestions:
I made with spinach risotto!  You could really serve with any starch and vegetable though.  Asparagus and roasted potatoes could be an amazing combination.  You could even throw in the potatoes with the roast while it bakes!  Enjoy 🙂

Image   The Chef in the works

Leave a Reply

