Palatable Pumpkin Bread

Pumpkin Bread

I’m going to be honest, I never really wanted to cook with my mom when I was younger.  I was way more interested in playing with boys and hanging out with my friends.  Although now that I’m a lot older, and a little wiser, I wish that I took advantage of the kitchen time I could have had with my mom so she could teach me all of her amazing recipes and tricks.

The one thing I do remember making with her is Pumpkin Bread.  When Drew and I first started dating, he had said how much he liked it, so I wanted to impress him with a loaf, so my mom and I slaved over the kitchen and she taught me how to make it.  I have always loved this recipe, and I loved making it so much that Christmas 2012 she got me the same fall festive pan from William Sonoma that she uses.

Now, I’ve been moving quite a bit, so believe it or not I haven’t made this since I made with my mom back in our Redding home, but I broke out the pan today and put my skills to the test.  Although I’m sure they would’ve been way more fun to make had my mom been in the kitchen making them with me, luckily she’s visiting on Wednesday so she can enjoy the treat I’m surprising her with!

This recipe does make a lot – I made (2) loaves and (6) cupcakes but feel free to modify recipe according to your needs.

Ingredients:

2 1/2 cups sugar

3/4 cup oil

4 eggs

2 cups pumkin

3 1/2 cups flour

1 1/2 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon nutmeg

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon all spice

1/8 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice

2 taspoons baking soda

2/3 cup water

1/2 teaspoon baking powder

1 cup raisins or chopped pecans/walnuts

Directions:

1.) Preheat oven to 325

2.) Mix sugar, oil, eggs, and pumpkin with a spoon

3.) With a hand mixture combine the rest of the ingredients and then finish by adding the raisins and/or nuts.

4.) Pour into greased and floured pans **Trick: If using a decorated pan, pound the bottom of the pan on the counter to get any air bubbles out.

5.) Bake in a pan for 45 to 50 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean OR Bake in cupcake pan with liners for 25-30 minutes or until toothpick comes out clean

Image   The Chef in the works

 

 

Leave a Reply

