Amazing Avocado Pesto Pasta

Avocado Pesto Pasta

When my husband is away or goes out to dinner without me I take the opportunity to make things that he doesn’t like.  Although his “do not eat” list isn’t long, a lot of the things I love to eat, he doesn’t.  So, since he hates avocado, and I had a nice ripe one waiting for me in my fruit basket, I thought it would be a good idea to make a healthy dish using this amazing fruit (yes, avocado is a fruit!).

I found two recipes that didn’t call for dairy, and one that was really bland but included chicken, so I thought that I would combine the three to make one fabulous dish.  Although I ate it immediately since it was 7PM and I hate eating late, I would highly recommend making this dish, then cooling for more of a pasta salad taste.  Warm avocado just doesn’t suit my fancy, but you can give it a whirl.

I originally wanted to make this a spaghetti squash meal, but mine was molded inside, so I had to toss it and resort to the next healthiest option:  brown rice pasta.  However, this would be great with spaghetti squash, so if you have some, definitely use it!

If you love avocado then this dish is certainly for you.  And, for all of my non-dairy fellow eaters, this meal really gives you a sense that you’re eating something creamy but doing it guilt free!  Keep in mind, this makes 2 servings, so it’s enough for a full meal or a side dish.  If making a full meal for more than one person, you might want to double it!

Ingredients:

8 ounces (227 grams) dry brown rice pasta

1 large ripe avocado

1/4 teaspoon finely grated garlic

1 teaspoon lemon juice

1/8 teaspoon kosher salt and salt to taste

Freshly ground black pepper, to taste

6 grape tomatoes sliced or diced

4 fresh basil leaves finely chopped

1/4 cup chicken broth

1 chicken breast cut into thin strips

Garlic Powder

1.2 tablespoon oil

Directions:

1.) Cook pasta according to directions (You can substitute with white pasta, spaghetti squash, etc…)

2.) While pasta cooks, heat a small skillet with oil. Season your chicken with salt, pepper, and garlic powder and cook for about 5-8 minutes until chicken is cooked

3.) While chicken and pasta cook, slice the avocado and add the flesh to a large bowl. Using a fork, mash into a chunky paste. Add the garlic, lemon juice, salt, pepper, basil, and grape tomatoes.

4.) Once pasta is cooked and drained, add to the avocado mixture and add 1/4 cup of chicken broth. **Note: If you cook with white pasta, you can reserve the pasta water as a substitute for the chicken broth

5.) Add chicken, toss, and serve immediately. Or, you can chill in refrigerator before serving…that was my preferred taste

Image   The Chef in the works

Leave a Reply

