Pretty Peach Crumb Cake

Peach Crumb Cake

So, I just started learning about when fruits and veggies are in season, and discovered from my mother in law that peach season is almost over!  Now, I don’t buy or eat peaches often, but as soon as I found out that the peach season ended in the beginning of September, I knew it was time to try a peach recipe….or several :).

Speaking of my mother in law, she’s the one that made the first peach cake I’ve ever had.  Whenever I visit the in laws, I always expect to see a breakfast treat of some sort sitting on their kitchen island.  Most of the time it’s a strudel from our good friends Pillsbury, but every once in a while there would be a homemade peach cake.  Although I am very strict with my dairy free diet, I always indulge in a slice (yes, only one).  Although her recipe doesn’t include a crumb topping, I thought that it would be a perfect accompaniment to this dessert.

Ingredients:

For the cake:
2 cups flour
1 cup Sugar
1 tsp Baking Powder
Pinch of salt
1 stick butter softened
2 eggs
1.5 fresh peaches
Cinnamon for sprinkling
Granulated sugar for sprinkling

For the topping:
1/2 cup packed light brown sugar
1/2 cup all purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
4 tablespoons unsalted butter, softenedDirections:

1.)  Preheat oven to 350 degrees
2.) Sift the flour, baking powder, and salt then put into a bowl
3.) In another bowl, mix the butter and eggs into a large bowl and cream with the sugar.
4.) Once creamed, add the sifted flour mixture and combine until well blended.
5.) Slightly grease a 7 x 11 baking pan with butter or spray
6.) Spread mixture and press with hands (to avoid having batter stick to hands, moisten finger tips with a little water)
7.) Top batter with sliced peaches (be generous if you like peaches)
8.) Sprinkle with a little cinnamon and sugar
9.) In another bowl, combine all the topping ingredients and blend with a whisk or spoon until it resembles coarse crumbs
10.) Top cake with crumb topping (I had a little bit leftover, so don’t feel the need to use all of the topping unless you like a nice butter, cinnamon sugar taste)
11.) Bake uncovered in oven for 30 Minutes, or until a toothpick inserted comes out dry

ImageThe Chef in the Works

Leave a Reply

