Crispy Cordon Bleu Chicken

Crispy Chicken Cordon Bleu

While feeding my Pinterest addiction, I came across chicken cordon bleu, a dish I haven’t made or eaten in literally 5 years.  The hubby is not a Swiss cheese fan (and when I did eat cheese, I couldn’t even smell the stuff!),  so I never even thought to make it, but the idea of substituting the ingredients peaked my interest so I thought I would give it a go.

Although this recipe is for cheese lovers, my healthy version was stuffed with ham and spinach and I used no breadcrumbs and just seasoned the chicken in garlic powder, onion powder, salt and pepper – it tasted just as good (although the garlic butter sure smelled amazing).

Ingredients:

2 chicken breasts skinless and boneless
4 slices ham (I got fresh sliced from the deli)
1/2 cup cheese (use any kind you like, we used shredded provolone)
1/4 cup all-purpose flour
Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper
1 cup seasoned panko bread crumbs
1 tsp thyme
1 clove garlic, peeled and finely minced
2 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted
2 eggs
1 tbsp extra-virgin olive oil

Directions:

1.) Preheat oven to 375-400 (depending on how fast you want to cook it)

1.) Pound chicken breasts to 1/4 inch

2.) Season chicken with a pinch pepper (I added garlic powder too, but this isn’t necessary)

3.) Lay 1 slice of ham neatly over the top to cover the breast and sprinkle a quarter of the cheese over the ham. Once finished, roll up tight and secure with a toothpick
4.) Put flour on a place and season with pepper.

5.) Mix the bread crumbs with thyme, garlic and kosher salt, pepper, and melted butter.

6.) Beat the eggs and season with thyme and pepper
7.) Lightly dust the chicken with flour, dip in the egg mixture and gently coat in the bread crumbs.

8.) Coat baking pan with olive oil and carefully transfer the chicken rolls onto it.

9.) Bake for 35 minutes until browned and cooked through (or until internal temperature reads 160).

Serving Suggestion:

We enjoyed with asparagus, and the hubs had rice. A nice sauvignon blanc would be a nice balance to this great meal!

ImageThe Chef in the Works

Leave a Reply

