Crunchy Cashew Chicken

Cashew Chicken

So, when I initially thought of Cashew Chicken, I never thought of it being in Stir Fry.  I guess it makes sense, but I always envisioned the chicken being coated in crushed cashews, like breadcrumbs, as opposed to just tossing cashews in the dish.  Although I would like to try a cashew breading, I tried the stir fry version first and was incredibly surprised with how juicy the chicken turned out and how much flavor the honey and the soy sauce brings while accompanying the cashews.  My problem with cooking meat is that I always over cook:  the, better safe than sorry mentality.  Since I’ve been cooking a lot more, I am STARTING to learn how to cook chicken so it’s not over done, and this dish was a great starting ground.

Although I thought it would taste like all of the other chicken stir fry dishes I’ve made in the past, it really had it’s own personal touch which is why I wanted to add it to the blog…and the husband enjoyed it, so then I have to post it!

Remember – the great thing about these dishes is that you can add whatever you like, so if there’s a veggie here that’s missing, toss it in, and if there’s a veggie here that you don’t like, just

Ingredients:

2 (6-ounce) skinless, boneless chicken breast halves, cut into 1-inch cubes

2 tablespoons cornstarch

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper

1/8 teaspoon onion powder

1/8 teaspoon garlic powder

1 tablespoon canola oil

1 tablespoon dark sesame oil

1 scallion thinly sliced

1 cups broccoli florets

1/2 cup green beans

1/2 cup zucchini

1/2 cup water chestnuts

1 medium yellow onion, finely chopped

1/2 red bell pepper, sliced

1/2 cup dry-roasted cashews, unsalted

1.5 tablespoon rice vinegar

4.5 tablespoons honey

3 tablespoons lower-sodium soy sauce

2 garlic cloves, minced

red pepper flakes, to taste

Directions:

1. Season chicken with salt, pepper, onion powder, and garlic powder then mix with cornstarch and toss well

2. Heat a large skillet over medium heat with 1 tablespoon canola oil. Add the chopped vegetables, 1/2 scallion, and garlic and toss with some salt and pepper. Cook for 10-12 minutes until vegetables are tender

3. While vegetables cook, in a separate skillet, add canola and sesame oils. Add chicken, and sauté for 4-5 minutes or until lightly browned, then flip

5. While everything is cooking, you can prepare the sauce. Combine vinegar, soy sauce, honey, and red pepper flakes and stir with a whisk

6. Once vegetables are done, toss with the chicken and add your cashews and sauce

7. Put skillet on high heat to reduce the sauce to desired consistency, while tossing everything frequently

8. Once reduced, plate, sprinkle with scallion and serve!

Serving Suggestions:

I served with instant brown rice. It takes about 15 minutes to cook, so I started as soon as I put the chicken on.

ImageThe Chef in the works

Leave a Reply

