Charming Chinese Beef with Vegetables

Chinese Beef and Vegetables

Ever since I was little I LOOOOVED Chinese food.  Every year, my mom and dad would ask me what I wanted for my birthday dinner and, without question, my answer would always be “Chinese Food!” with a smile.  Although now I don’t eat Chinese food nearly as much as I used to, I don’t only love eating it, but I love cooking it.  After doing lots of research on how (fast food) restaurants cook Chinese food with LOTS of chemicals, trans fats, and GMO, I really wanted to start learning how to make it on my own so I can enjoy what I love without the guilt and concern about what it is I’m eating. 

I’ve tried chicken and it’s delish, so I knew it was time to try out the beef and man was I pleasantly surprised.  A lot of the time we get the cheaper steak and it’s chewy and fatty, but these were fantastic!  The thing to keep in mind is although when marinating, the steak will look and feel dry, when you put it on the pan, the fat makes it greasy so the meat really picks up the flavor! 

For this recipe, I’m only going to include how to cook the beef then adding vegetables all together.  I added broccoli, onion, carrots, and peppers but I cooked them separately in a little olive oil.  You really don’t want to overcook the meat so as soon as the meat is cooked you want to mix with the veggies, toss, and plate!

Ingredients:

1 pound sirloin steak cubes

2 tablespoons soy sauce

3 teaspoons cornstarch

1 clove garlic

1 tablespoon EVOO

1/8 teaspoon onion powder

1/8 teaspoon red pepper flakes (more or less depending on spice preferences)

Salt and pepper, as needed

Vegetables

Directions:

1.) Whisk Soy Sauce, Corn Starch, Red Pepper Flakes, and Garlic in a bowl until smooth

2.) Cut sirloin steak cubes into thin strips – this will help keep the steak moist and tender

3.) Season with salt, pepper, and onion powder

4.) Cover and refrigerate for 20 minutes -1 hour

5.) While steak marinates, you can start cooking your vegetables

6.) When vegetables are halfway done cooking, sprinkle pan with olive oil and heat on medium-high

7.) Once the pan is heated, place steak on pan and spread out so each peace cooks evenly, about 4 minutes on each side

8.) Mix with vegetables, toss, and enjoy!

Serving Suggestion:

Rice is always a great choice when cooking chinese food, but if you make a lot of extra sauce, thin pasta (similar to lo mein) could also be a great choice.  As far as drinks are concerned, since we are in Riesling country, a good Riesling is always a good choice with Chinese Food.

Image   The Chef in the works

 

Leave a Reply

