Quick Summer Quinoa Salad with Lime Vinaigrette

Quinoa Salad with Lime Vinaigrette

There’s nothing better than eating healthy after a few cheat days! My friend Hayley (Hi Hayley!) visited and although we didn’t overindulge too much in unhealthy foods, we certainly drank enough wine to make up for that.  I knew once she left it was back to my healthy lifestyle, and the best way to do that was to cook a healthy, protein packed dinner that would keep me stuffed enough not to snack the rest of the day/night.  So, since I hadn’t cooked quinoa in a while, and I had avocado, tomato, and black beans on hand….I decided to whip up something of my own, and it did not disappoint.  Although I made enough to be served as a meal for (1-2) people or a side dish for (2-4) people….you can always modify according to your meal plan.

What’s great about quinoa salad is you can really add or exclude any ingredients you like.  Feel free to add corn, broccoli, sundried tomatoes, etc…whatever suits your fancy!

I hope you like it as much as I did 🙂

For the salad:

3/4 cup cooked quinoa

4 tablespoons rinsed black beans

1/2 avocado, peeled and cut into 1/2-inch pieces

10 grape tomatoes, halved

Salt, to taste

For the dressing:

1/5-1 clove garlic

1 tablespoon extra virgin olive oil

1/8 teaspoon minced fresh ginger root

1 tablespoon fresh lime juice

1 teaspoons balsamic vinegar OR, I use 2 teaspoons lite balsamic vinaigrette for some extra seasoning

Directions:

1.) First cook quinoa according to package instructions – I like to cook my quinoa with (1) cup sodium free chicken broth and (1) cup water

2.)  Once quinoa is cooked, put in the fridge for about an hour

3.) While quinoa cools, combine the black beans, avocado, and tomatoes in a bowl

4.)  In a separate bowl, combine all dressing ingredients together

5.)  Once the quinoa is cooled off, combine all ingredients

Serving Suggestions:

I ate this healthy dish on its own, but you could grill some chicken if you’re looking to make this for a bigger dinner, but there’s enough protein that chicken isn’t necessary!  I’m also not drinking for a while, but you could enjoy a glass of a nice white wine like Sauvignon Blanc or Pinot Grigio!

Image   The Chef in the works

Leave a Reply

