Guilt Free Grilled Chicken with Spinach, Mozzarella, and Roasted Red Peppers

 

Image

Here I am!  I have been away for pretty much the entire month of May, and on the (4) days I was home I had to stick to what I knew and make stuff that has already been posted on the blog.  Sorry for abandoning you, but I am baaaack….at least for a little while, until my trip to New Orleans next week!

So, last night I knew it was time to try a new recipe and what better way to get some ideas then through my handy dandy Pinterest.  I had pinned this recipe a long time ago, so I knew it was time to make my own rendition of it.  Although it didn’t need much tweaking, I wanted to flavor the chicken a lot more since it’s the main part of the dish, and especially since I don’t eat cheese, I needed a little more to go on then just spinach and peppers.  My friend introduced me to my new love in the kitchen, infused basting oil, so I knew this was a perfect time to put it to good use, and boy….it didn’t disappoint.

Although I made this dish for just the hubs and I, you can make more for guests or for leftovers!

Ingredients:

2 Chicken breasts pounded about 1 1/2 in. thick

2 Tablespoons one 1/2 teaspoon basting oil and (Wegmans)

1/2 Clove garlic, minced

4 Handfuls fresh spinach

1/4 Cup part skim mozzarella per chicken (enough to top it) – For my dairy free friends out there, I skipped this topping!

4 Thinly sliced roasted red peppers (in the jar)

Salt and pepper to taste

1/8 Teaspoon Garlic Powder

1/8 Teaspoon Onion Powder

Olive oil spray

Directions:

1.) Preheat oven to 400° and Preheat grill to medium-high (roughly 350°-450°)

2.) Season the pounded chicken with onion powder, garlic powder, salt and pepper.

3.) Coat the chicken with the 2 Tbsp. basting oil to give it a little more flavor (you don’t have to do this step, but I love this stuff!)

4.) Lightly spray a grill with oil and cook chicken on the grill over direct heat until no longer pink, be careful not to overcook or you’ll have dry chicken. I cooked about 4-5 minutes on each side, but you can use a thermometer to ensure it reads 160°. Side note: You can cook the chicken ahead of time to prep, since we’ll be putting it in the oven it will reheat!

5.) While the chicken cooks, heat a sauté pan on medium heat. Add 2 teaspoons oil and garlic, sauté a few seconds, add spinach, salt and pepper. Cook a few minutes until heated through.

6.) When chicken is done, lay on a baking sheet lined with foil or parchment for easy clean-up. Divide spinach evenly and place on top of the chicken. Then, top each with half oz mozzarella, then slices of roasted pepper and bake until melted, about 6-8

Serving Suggestions:

Since there isn’t a sauce, I suggest serving with rice! Also, there is already spinach on the chicken so you don’t have to accompany it with another veggie, but I cooked some asparagus on the side!

Image   The Chef in the works

 

Leave a Reply

