Simple Slow Cooker Chicken Tacos

Image

My husband is a HUGE taco fan, ever since we moved to California anytime I asked him what he wanted for dinner he’d always say “Tacos?”.  This got to the point where for Christmas I actually got him a shirt that had a picture of a taco on it and says “Tacos?”.  He’s obsessed.  Although my love for tacos isn’t as strong, I do love me my Taco Tuesday and last night for us was Taco Wednesday.  Some of the many reason I love tacos is because they’re super easy, fun to assemble, flavorful, and most importantly the crunchy shell reminds me of a chip (my favorite).

In the past, we’ve used ground turkey and some seasoning and called it a day, but not this Taco Wednesday.  For this, I was breaking out the crock pot and boy was it delicious.  Even my husband, the food critic (not really, but he pretends to be) kept saying how these were the BEST tacos he’s had…..a pat on the back, a smile, and a bite later I completely agreed!

Image

Ingredients (Makes roughly 8 Tacos):
2 boneless skinless chicken breasts
1/2 packet of taco seasoning – for a lower sodium seasoning, you can make your own – recipes are all over internet!
3/4 jar of salsa
pinch of cumin (for a little added flavor)
1/2 onion
Extras:
Corn or flour taco shells for filling
Toppings: Lettuce, Tomato, Onion, Cheese, Avocado, Lime, etc…

Instructions:
1. Place your chicken in the crock pot and season with the taco seasoning then top with the salsa.
2. Dice up your onion and add to the crock pot and move the ingredients around (flip the chicken so the salsa coats it)
3. Cook on low for 6-8 hours, or high for 3-4 Hours
4. If you like your tacos drenched in sauce, you can add the remaining salsa

Serving Suggestion:  Serve with Spanish Rice and/or Homemade Tortilla Strips (recipe found in Marvelous Mexican Soup) and a beer (or two!)

Image   The Chef in the works

 

 

One thought on “Simple Slow Cooker Chicken Tacos

Leave a Reply

