Best Bacon Wrapped Chicken Bites

Image

So, I’m not sure who knows this, but I am not a fan of cooking for people:  Myself, yes!  Husband, sure!  Family, maybe!  Friends, no!  There’s nothing worse then having company (that’s not related to you) over, and completely butchering what was supposed to be a fabulous meal – and butchering food is something I am known for (and good at) doing.  On my quest for being a chef in the works, I decided it was time to cook for people.   It was game night, so I thought I would make a fun little app for everyone to enjoy.  Now, as you know I try to live a dairy free lifestyle, and my friend who was hosting the party was gluten free, so finding an easy and delicious recipe is quite the challenge….thank goodness for pinterest!

On the hunt for the perfect appetizer, I come across these babies and knew it was love at first “site”.  Chicken…..wrapped in bacon….covered in brown sugar?  Sign me up!  Let’s just say this was a crowd pleaser, and my husband came back for seconds (okay, thirds).  So, before posting this lovely recipe that I think everyone should try, I want to make a shout out to the good dinner mom who posted the original recipe and encourage you all to check out her website: http://www.gooddinnermom.com.

Now, onto the recipe!

Ingredients
4 boneless, skinless, chicken breasts
1 16 ounce package sliced bacon
⅔ cup firmly packed brown sugar
2 tablespoons chili powder
Oregano
Thyme
Garlic powder
Onion powder
Crushed red pepper flakes
Italian Seasoning (if you have it)
Toothpicks

Instructions
1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.
2. Cut chicken breasts into bite-sized pieces. Small enough so people can pop them in their mouth, but big enough so you can wrap a good slab of bacon around it.
3. Place in a medium bowl and sprinkle with a good amount of oregano, thyme, garlic powder, a little bit of the Italian seasoning and crushed red pepper flakes (if desired, the more you use the spicier it will taste). Use your judgment here – I used enough to coat the chicken but not OVER coat the chicken – I’d say about a tablespoon or two reserved would be enough. I would take a piece of chicken out and cover in more garlic/onion powder and oregano if I didn’t think it was coated enough!
4. In a small bowl, mix brown sugar and chili powder.
5. Cut slab of sliced bacon into thirds.
6. Coat a rack and broiler pan with nonstick cooking spray.
7. Make an assembly line: Chicken, bacon, toothpicks, brown sugar/chili powder mixture, broiler pan.
8. Wrap each chicken piece with bacon and secure with a toothpick. Dredge wrapped chicken in mixture and arrange on broiler pan. Continue until pan it full. Bake for 23-25 minutes or until bacon is crisp. I had to cook mine for about 28 minutes, so make sure to watch yours around 23 minutes!
Tip: You can do some of this ahead of time. I coated the chicken pieces with the seasonings, wrapped in the bacon, poked with a toothpick and placed in a baking dish with tin foil over it and let it sit in the fridge overnight to cook in the late afternoon – I highly suggest this if you’re running around the day of.

Image   The Chef in the works

One thought on “Best Bacon Wrapped Chicken Bites

Leave a Reply

