Simple Spaghetti Squash Leftover Patties

Image

So, you just made this HUGE batch of Spaghetti Squash and you have no idea what to do with the remaining bowl of the yummy yellow strings of deliciousness.  Yes, you can add some marinara and Bon Appetit!  You can also add some EVOO and Garlic and keep it simple. But, since I eat it all by my lonesome I was getting tired of the same old way of eating it. What better way to add all of the ingredients I love by turning spaghetti squash into a tasty burger, patty, fritter? Just like a lot of the recipes I post, you can really make them your own….I really try to avoid dairy, so cheese could certainly be something you could add as well as any other food you like:  diced peppers, onions, mushrooms, etc…  This was my first go around but I certainly intend to spice things up with more ingredients down the road!

Servings: 4

Ingredients:

2 cups spaghetti squash

4 garlic cloves, minced (have I shared my love of garlic?….2 cloves would be enough for a non-garlic lover)

1 egg

½ cup fire roasted tomatoes (you can use regular plum tomatoes if desired)

¼ teaspoon salt

¼ teaspoon red pepper flakes

⅛ teaspoon black pepper

1 tablespoon parsely

3/4 cup olive oil

Dairy Option:  ¼ cup Parmesan cheese

Directions: (This recipe calls for leftover spaghetti squash, so if you haven’t already cooked it, please refer to my Scrumptious Spaghetti Squash Recipe)

  1. Mix all of the ingredients in a bowl.
  2. (This is where things get a little messy) Heat olive oil in a large saute pan. Form balls of the spaghetti squash mixture about two tablespoons in size
  3. Lightly fry for about 7-8 minutes over medium-high heat, then flip and fry for another four minutes.  Be extra careful not to over cook – I advise staying more on Medium temperature to avoid burning.  You want them to be really golden brown AND you want to avoid them falling apart, so cooking longer is recommended
  4. Garnish with parsley (and more cheese, if desired)

Easy enough, right?  If I can do it you can do it!  Enjoy 🙂

Image

The Chef in the Works

Leave a Reply

