Easy, Breezy, Brussel Sprouts

Image

I know these little green balls of nutrients have a bad rep, but I have had a fondness for them ever since I tried them for the first time back in College….it wasn’t THAT long ago ;).

I was sitting at the bar at a restaurant called Barcelona (great tapas) in CT, and the gentleman next to me was enjoying a salad, I asked him what it was and he said “Brussel Sprouts”.  I told him I had heard of them but never tried one, and simply made a mental note to try them sometime and continued on with my tasty beverage.  Then, within minutes the bartender brings me the same salad….I guess commenting on the managers meal has its advantages.  I decided to try it (you’ll come to realize, that I will try ALMOST anything), and I loved the stuff.  I’ll be sure to post a recipe of the salad sometime in the near future, but in the meantime I decided to post a quick recipe I came across that’s easy and breezy.  Enjoy!

Ingredients:

1 – 1/2 TBS Olive Oil

1/4 TSP Salt and Pepper to your liking (you can always add more later)

1/4 TSP Lemon Juice

Directions:

1.) Preheat oven for 400 degrees

2.) To prepare brussel sprouts, wash with lukewarm water (it works better than cold water at getting the bugs, dirt, and pestisides off), then, trim the ends.

2.) Put Olive Oil, Salt and Pepper and prepared brussel sprouts in a zip lock back and shake it…shake it real good!

3.) Place on a non-stick baking sheet in the open for about 30-40 min.  Toss halfway in between so browning is even.  Once it becomes a night bright green and toasted brown, you know it’s ready for eating…and you can’t under cook them since you can eat them raw and have them still be tasty (if you’re into that sort of thing).

4.)  Take out of the oven and sprinkle the lemon juice on them and enjoy your tasty, guilt free snack, dinner, or dessert 😉

Image   The Chef in the works

Leave a Reply

