Super Smoothie

I don’t know about you, but ever since I’ve gotten my blender I’ve been obsessed with making smoothies.  I’m still perfecting the art, but I thought I’d share my new concoction with all of you to try (and modify as you wish).

Before diving into the recipe, I wanted to share my thoughts on the wonderful superfood seeds that my sister introduced me to:  Cha-Cha-Cha-Chia Seeds!  These tiny little seeds are so small but pack a mean punch.  They actually come from the mint family, which is shocking because I’ve hated mint since I was born, but they taste nothing like it (thankfully).  But, what are the health benefits of consuming chia seeds?  You name it, they’ve got it!

Chia More, Eat Less – Chia Seeds contain Tryptophan, an amino acid found in your yummy Thanksgiving feast,  which helps regulate appetite, sleep and improve mood.

Say “Cheese” with Chia Seeds – Contains Phosphorus and Calcium, which maintains healthy bones and teeth.

Happy Tummy – Contains fiber, which aids in the healthy digestion.

Brain Games– Loaded with Omega-3 Fatty Acids, which are important for brain health.

Protein Power – A serving can contain 10 percent of the daily value.

No Need For Tummy Tuck – Chia Seeds stabilize blood sugar levels, which contributes to weight gain.

Super Smoothie

Ingredients for a 1-2 Serving Smoothie (and feel free to add/omit your own)

1/2 Cup Orange Juice

1/2 Cup Water

1 Handful Spinach

3 Tablespoons Frozen Mangoes

3 Tablespoons Diced Pineapple

2 Handful Strawberry, Blueberry, Blackberry Mix

1 Tablespoon Chia Seeds

Directions:

Mix in a blender and pour in a glass – Doesn’t get much easier than that!

Image

Image   The Chef in the works

Leave a Reply

