Quinoa…

Pronounced KEEN-wah, not kwuh-NO-uh – As much as I love the NFL Bud Light Commercial….https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KcQmBCM3JMs

Image

This is something, for me, that took a little while to learn to cook…I just couldn’t stop burning the little guys!  But then, I learned that it’s important to keep it timed and not forget about it, which is something I have a habit of doing.  So, now I can cook quinoa pretty easily and now you can too!

You can use any brand you like, but I just happened to find this Village Harvest brand at Walmart and gave it a go!

How to Cook Quinoa:

1. ) Rinse your quinoa thoroughly

2. ) Combine with 2 Cups of water in a small to medium size pot

* I substitute (1) Cup Water for (1) Cup Chicken Broth for added flavor *

3.) Bring to a boil, and reduce heat to low to simmer for 10-15 minutes or until water is absorbed

* To keep from burning, time for 10 minutes and keep an eye on it until water is absorbed fully *

5.) When finished, keep the lid on the pot and remove from heat and allow to stand for 5 min.

6.) Fluff with fork, spice with some S&P, if desired, and serve, eat, or chill

Chef Note:

The best way to know if your quinoa is cooked is by looking for a white ring around each grain.  This is when the germ separates from the kernel, and when this happens you are ready to dig in.  See Below!

ImageThere are MANY ways to cook quinoa by adding different ingredients like protein, vegetables, and spices, but this is the most basic quinoa lesson for now!

My Chef Ranking:  A

Although I cooked it right this time, I still need to experiment with a real quinoa recipe to see how it turns out, so for now I’ll give myself an A for not setting off the fire alarm.

Image   The Chef in the works

Leave a Reply

