Chili-licous

ImageMmmm….Who doesn’t love chili, especially on cold days like today;  -2 and 28 mph winds….I think I’ll stay inside and make some chili in my pajamas thank you very much!

This was actually my first time ever making chili on my own and I was nervous because, as we all know, I’m not the best chef…..yet!  But, surprisingly, it tasted amazing and I am looking forward to making this again.

So here’s MY own chili recipe that I hope you’ll enjoy as much as my tummy did!

Ingredients:

1              tablespoon vegetable oil

1              pound ground chicken or turkey

1              can (about 14-1/2 ounces) chicken broth (or 1-1/2 cup)

1              large onion, minced

2              teaspoons chili powder

1/2         teaspoon ground allspice

1/4         teaspoon cinnamon

1/4         teaspoon paprika

1              can (15 ounces) black beans, rinsed and drained

1              can (14 ounces) crushed tomatoes in tomato purée

2              teaspoons apple cider vinegar

1              cup canned corn – optional, and amount can vary

1/4         teaspoon finely diced jalapeños (optional)

1/4         teaspoon salt and pepper (optional)

Instructions:

1.) Heat oil in large skillet over medium high heat until hot. Add ground chicken or turkey, chicken broth, onion, and jalapeños (if desired). Cook and stir, breaking up the meat. Cook until chicken or turkey is cooked through and no longer pink.

2.) Add all the fun spices….Feel free to add some of your own if you like.  The spices I used were chili powder, allspice, cinnamon, paprika, and a dash of the S&P.

3.) Reduce heat to medium-low; simmer 10 minutes then add black beans, tomatoes and vinegar and let that get to a boil.

4.) Reduce heat to low; add corn, and simmer 20 to 25 minutes or until chili is thickened to desired consistency.

My Chef Ranking:  A+

I don’t mean to brag, but this recipe is pretty awesome!  I took an existing chili recipe and made it my own, and not only did I not burn down the house, but it came out really well!  I really think the Cinnamon added to the flavor, but make sure not to overdo it!

Image   The Chef in the works

Leave a Reply

